Chapter 1- My day as a Finnish farmer boy

After having left my job in the end of December, being back from Cape Town and having shoot as freelancer photographer for a couple of months; I took the final leap. I left the flat I was renting, packed nearly everything in boxes that I have stored away and moved to the countryside.

How did it happen? Well, I visited a couple of friends in their farm last autumn and I felt in love with the place. I already knew they are great people with a heart of gold and great personality, so when I asked them if I could have started my interactive travelling adventures from their farm I got a warm and immediate yes as an answer.

The farm where I am working is a family business split in two, AK my current boss and host is the CEO of the cows’ barn side, SK his sister has a horses training stable. I arrived with trepidation and high energy, looking forward to more practical work and dealing with the animals. I still feel like that, despite by now I have numb and painful fingertips, and my half poetic view of the country life has been halved. The sweet little calf looks cute and helpless, but just try to move it from a box to another one 10 cm distant and you will find out that it is an evil machine with the pulling power of the incredible Hulk…just furrier and not green. Luckily enough I found out this at day 2 of my experience, adapting goes faster when you start early.

I have been here for a while now, my day start around 7am with taking care of the barn while AK is milking. The milking system he uses requires squatting in between cows and we both agreed I am a bit too tall for such a task. So I clean the floor from the left-over hay, I feed the cows with oat, then I drop new hay and spread it between the “customers”.

After the barn, I go to take care of the horses, some belongs to AK but some are just kept here because SK’s stable is always so busy that she hasn’t got the place for them all. I have around 14 of them, all with a slightly different personality. The 3 young and far too curious stallions, are my daily nightmare. For someone who does not have experience in dealing with horses, dealing with unmannerly youngsters is quite a challenge.

After having fed and brought out all of them it’s time to go and clean the boxes for the night…all considered I just realized I am working in a bed and breakfast.

During the day there is always something to do; despite in the winter the field work is not a problem, Finland+winter=snowy fields, you know. And yes it’s still winter here despite the locals refer to it as spring (see for yourself)

At around 6pm is cow’s dinner time and then I am bringing back in the horses. Job done, hands hurting, and well a major thing I didn’t mention yet, smelling like a cave-man it’s time to relax.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1- My day as a Finnish farmer boy

  1. of course like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to inform the reality then again I’ll surely come again again.

    • Thank you very much for your comment. I am quite rusty as it’s been a while since I have been writing for someone to read in my second language. I hope the problem is not arising from a British vs American spelling as I am using the British one. I will improve for sure and I thank you for your input.

Leave a Reply

